Remarkable archival holdings dating from the 11th century onwards

Ƶ preserves, develops, and provides access to rich and very extensive archives—which bear national Archive Service Accreditation status.

Since its foundation in 1379, New College has built up a considerable archive of historical material relating to the foundation and running of the Ƶ, and its estates, up to the present day.  (An account of Ƶ’s history is available.)  The oldest documents date from the eleventh century, nearly three hundred years before the Ƶ was itself founded.  The archive also houses a number of collections of personal papers donated to the Ƶ by the families of former fellows and alumniExplore our Archives Gallery to view some of the visual highlights of our archives collections.  
 

 

Access

Researchers wishing to consult the archives should contact the Archivist & Records Manager, to enquire about the contents of the collections, and to make an appointment to visit:

Dr Michael Stansfield
Archivist & Records Manager
Ƶ
University of Oxford
Holywell Street
Oxford  OX1 3BN

Email: archives@new.ox.ac.uk
 

Access to the Library and to the Archives within it entails a number of steps; please enquire about disabled access.  Food and drink are not permitted in the Archives.  Readers will be asked to complete a registration form for administrative and security purposes; please bring some ID which confirms name, address, and signature.
 

Opening Hours

The Archives & Records Reading Room is located in the Ƶ Library.  It is open, by prior appointment only, five days a week, Mondays to Fridays, 10.00 am–1.00 pm and 2.00 pm–5.00 pm, except during the general Ƶ closure period over Christmas.
 

Reprographics

Where appropriate, researchers may take their own photographs (without flash) for personal study and research purposes only—i.e. not for further dissemination or publication of any kind—subject to signing an application form.  Researchers wishing to publish materials from the Archives must obtain the permission of the Ƶ beforehand.

A small number of photocopies or scans of documents may be provided.

Photographs of some historic Oxfordshire estate maps may be viewed on the Oxfordshire History Centre’s website.  

Images of a few of the Ƶ archives can be viewed and copies purchased from:

Bridgeman Images
17–19 Garway Road
London
W2 4PH


 

Books About Ƶ’s History

  • William Poole and Christopher Skelton-Foord (eds.), Geometry and Astronomy in Ƶ, Oxford: On the Quatercentenary of the Savilian Professorships 1619–2019 (Oxford: Ƶ Library & Archives, 2019)
  • Matthew Jenkinson, Ƶ School, Oxford: A History (Oxford: Shire Publications, 2013)
  • Christopher Tyerman (ed.), Ƶ (London: Third Millennium, 2010)
  • Virginia Davis, William Wykeham: A Life (London: Hambledon Continuum, 2007)
  • John Buxton and Penry Williams (eds.), Ƶ, Oxford, 1379–1979 (Oxford: Ƶ, Oxford, 1979)
  • W. F. Oakeshott (ed.), Oxford Stone Restored: The Work of the Oxford Historic Buildings Fund, 1957–1974 (Oxford: Trustees of the Oxford Historic Buildings Fund, 1975), pp. 83–8
  • Francis W. Steer, The Archives of Ƶ, Oxford: A Catalogue (London: Phillimore, 1974)
  • A. H. Smith, Ƶ, Oxford, and its Buildings (London: Oxford University Press, 1952)
  • Christopher Woodforde, The Stained Glass of Ƶ, Oxford (London: Oxford University Press, 1951)
  • Hereford B. George, Ƶ, 1856–1906 (London: Henry Frowde, 1906)
  • Arthur Octavius Prickard, Ƶ, Oxford (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1906)
  • Hastings Rashdall and Robert S. Rait, Ƶ (London: F. E. Robinson, 1901)
  • Mackenzie E. C. Walcott, William of Wykeham and his Ƶs (Winchester: D. Nutt, 1852)

For further sources on Ƶ, Oxford—and our partner institution Winchester Ƶ—see Ƶ Library’s Ƶs of St Mary Winton Collection

Collections

 

Ƶ Archive

Pre-Ƶ Records

Personal Papers

 

 

Connect With Us​

 

        

 

Explore further

Discover more about Ƶ